• incredible • memories •


Ahmad ibn Hanbal narrated:

From amongst the people of al-Basrah, Qataadah was the best at memorising; whatever he heard, he would memorise. The book “Saheefatu-Jaabir” was read to him (only) once and he memorised it (all)

al-Hifth – Ahmiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa’ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 15, Siyar A’laam an-Nubalaa‘ – 5/276

**


Qataadah ibn Di’aamah as-Suddoosee (died 118 A.H.) said:

I have never said to a muhaddith: “repeat it to me” and nor have my ears ever heard anything except that it has settled upon my heart (i.e. I have memorised it).”

al-Hifth – Ahmiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa’ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 14; Tathkiratul-Huffaath – 1/357, Al-Hath ‘alaa Hifth al-‘Ilm – Page 54; Siyar A’laam an-Nubalaa‘ – 5/276

**


Muhammad ibn Muslim az-Zuhree (died 125A.H.) narrated:

There is nothing I have (ever) memorised and then (later) forgotten

al-Hifth – Ahmiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa’ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 15; Hilyatul-Awliyaa‘ – 3/364; al-Jaami’ lil-Khateeb – 2/264

**


‘Abdullaah ibn Mas’ood (radhi-yallaahu ‘anhu) said:

Certainly, I consider a man who has forgotten knowledge which he used to possess to be the result of the sins he used to do

al-Hifth – Ahmiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa’ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 67

**


‘Aasim ibn an-Najwad (died 128 A.H.) said:

I was ill for 2 years, and when I got better, I read the Qur’aan (from memory) and I did not make a single mistake.

al-Hifth – Ahammiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa’ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 27; Siyar A’laam an-Nubalaa‘ – 5/258

**


Jamaal ad-Deen as-Sarmadee said:

From amongst the most amazing of those who memorised (knowledge) in our time was Ibn Taymiyyah; He would read a book only once and it would be etched in his mind (i.e. he would have memorised it)”

al-Hifth – Ahmiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa’ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 19; al-Badr at-Taali’ – 1/70

**


Mu’ammar said:

I used to attend the lessons of Qataadah when I was 14 years old, and there is nothing which I heard in those years except that it is as if it has been written (etched) in (on) my heart

Siyar A’laam an-Nubalaa‘ – 7/6

**


It has been narrated:

Abu ‘Amr al-‘Alaa’s home was full of books. So when his house burnt down, all that we took from him (in terms of knowledge) thereafter until he died was from his memory

al-Hifth – Ahmiyyatuhu, ‘Ajaa’ibuhu, Tareeqatuhu, Asbaabuhu – Page 11; al-Hath ‘alaa Talabil-‘Ilm – Page 74

**


‘Alee ibn Khashram said:

“I have never seen Wakee’ with a book in his hands, rather, he has everything memorised. So I asked him about the remedy for memorising, and he said:

If I told you the remedy, will you use it?”

I said: “By Allaah indeed.”

He said: “Leaving sins, for I have not experienced anything like it for memorising.””

Siyar A’laam an-Nubalaa‘ – 9/151

Leave a Reply

